Sefton Memorial Lectures

The Sefton Memorial Lectures

Background of the Sefton Lectures: 
Dedicated to the memory of Larry Sefton (1917-1973), the Sefton Memorial Lecture series presents topics of interest to scholars and practitioners of labour-management relations.

Larry Sefton’s career in the labour movement began on the picket line in Kirkland Lake in the gold miners’ strike during World War II.  He subsequently led the 1946 Stelco strike and later held office in the United Steelworkers of America, eventually becoming the Director of District 6.  He earned the respect and admiration of those who worked with him, and Woodsworth College and the Centre for Industrial Relations and Human Resources are proud to host a lecture series in his memory.

Each year the Sefton Award for Contributions to Labour Relations is also presented.  The award honours individuals who have made a significant contribution to the field of labour relations and human rights.  Both practitioners in labour relations as well as academics have received this award.

Sefton Memorial Lecturers:

1982-83 Mr. Lynn Williams
1983-84 Mr. Bob White
1984-85 Prof. John Dunlop
1985-86 Mr. Jeffrey Sack & Mr. John Murray
1986-87 Prof. Melvyn Dubofsky
1987-88 Judge Rosalie Abella
1988-89 Prof. Paul Weiler
1989-90 Prof. Seymour M. Lipset
1990-91 Prof. George Adams
1991-92 Prof. Laurel Sefton MacDowell
1992-93 The Honourable Bob Rae
1993-94 Mr. L. Victor Pathe
1994-95 Mr. Leo Gerard
1995-96 Prof. Graham S. Lowe
1996-97 Mr. Alexander (Sandy) Adam
1997-98 Mr. Kevin Burkett
1998-99 Ms. Julie White
1999-2000 Prof. Richard Freeman
2000-01 Prof. Peter Warrian
2001-02 Judy Darcy
2002-03 Tim Armstrong
2003-04 Gordon Betcherman
2004-05 Harry Arthurs
2005-06 Kate Bronfenbrenner
2006-07 Stephen Lewis
2007-08 Charlotte Yates and Jim Stanford
2008-09 Hugh Mackenzie
2009-10 Don Drummond
2010-11 Leah Vosko
2011-12 John Cartwright
2013 Nelson Lichtenstein, Natalie DesRosiers, Tony Burke

The Sefton Prize for Contributions to Industrial Relations
1997 Ralph Barford
1998 Lynn Williams
1999 Bob White
2000 Noah Meltz
2001 Shirley Goldenberg
2002 Rick MacDowell
2003 Des Morton
2004 Pradeep Kumar
2005 Frances Bairstow
2006 Alan Borovoy
2007 Leah Casselman
2008 Warren Edmondson
2009 Leo Gerard
2010 Bob Baldwin
2011 Andrew Jackson
2012 Chris Schenk
2013 Homer Seguin


Transcripts, audio files and more information about the lecture series is available here.